The Citizen Potawatomi Nation is the federally-recognized government of the Potawatomi people and exercises governmental jurisdiction in an area bounded by the North Canadian River, the South Canadian River, the Pottawatomie-Seminole County boundary (on the east), and the Indian Meridian (on the west). The Citizen Potawatomi Nation constitution was created in 1938, amended in 1985 and again in 2007, forming a structure which incorporates executive, legislative, and judicial functions. Government leadership consists of a three-person Executive Committee and a 16-person legislature representing more than 33,000 tribal citizens.